Monday, August 19, 2013

Book Review: The 5th Wave

Title: The 5th Wave
Author: Rick Yancey
Date of publication: May 7, 2012



Goodreads synopsis: The Passage meets Ender’s Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey.
After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up..




My summary:
Ever since the world fell in love with Katniss Everdeen, authors of all different genres have tried to create the next Girl on Fire. Most of which failed miserably by creating a character and storyline that has been done time and time again; but not Rick Yancey. In Yancey's new bestseller, readers will be introduced to a brave new heroine and a plot filled with action and suspense at every turn. 
Meet Cassie Sullivan. She's sarcastic, she's a fighter, she's loyal, and she's a survivor. Before the
Arrival, Cassie was just another average sixteen year old. She hung out with her best friend, crushed on boys, and played with her brother. But all of that changed after the Arrival. Forced to leave their home and fight for survival, Cassie and her family find comfort at a refuge camp nick-named Camp Ashpit. All is going well until Cassie and her younger brother, Sammy, are separated. Driven by a promise she made to her brother and father, Cassie sets out on a journey with only one objective. Find Sammy. Along the way, Cassie must come to terms with her new dying world while deciding who and what she can trust and what she is willing to risk to find her brother again.

My thoughts:


This particular book has been on my TBR list for quite some time but until very recently I haven't been able to purchase it. As soon as I did though, I knew right away that I was going to devour this book in one sitting. Of course, I did read this entire book in a 24 hour timespan and now I am eagerly awaiting the second and third books in this highly anticipated trilogy.


There were many strong points in this novel, but for me, the characters were my favorite component. Cassie is a character that people of any age can easily relate to. Cassie was a regular teen before the Arrival, so she doesn't know how to fight, live in the woods,be brave, or survive an apocalypse.


Because of this, Cassie's actions and the choices she makes throughout the book seem more flawed and overall, more human. Cassie's loyalty towards her brother and her sarcastic and comical 
personality make her character someone the reader can root for no matter what happens. Evan Walker, Cassie's new companion is such a unique character. Cassie knows it, he knows it, and so does the reader. By alternating the point of view every couple of chapters, readers will get to see who Evan Walker really is. Is he the caring and charming boy that he appears to be? Or is he the enemy? Sammy, Cassie's adorable younger brother, is the sweetest kid I have ever read about. Rick Yancey gives a ton of background into Cassie and Sammy's life before the Arrival so it was really cool to see the siblings relationship and how it was effected by the Arrival.

Sometimes when you read alien books, the plot is a little far fetched and hard to believe, even though its about aliens. What I really liked about the plot of The 5th Wave was that the characters in the book had no idea what these things in the sky were. They were completely ordinary people so they responded to the Arrival like we would, they totally freaked out. Rick Yancey made it easy to believe that aliens, whatever they may look like, could come from where ever it is they live and destroy life as we know it. It's not like little green men in tinfoil suits came down saying they come in peace or anything. I mean, I have an extremely active imagination, but even to me that is just a little to out there!


Overall, The 5th Wave was a fantastic read that was filled with loads of action, suspense, adventure, and even romance. Fans of The Hunger Games and The Host will devour this book just like I did.



--AMANDA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make our day :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...